A version of pokertracker is already running

A special forum dedicated to our PT4 for Mac OS X users

Moderators: WhiteRider, kraada, Flag_Hippo, morny

A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby KFaconca » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:57 pm

I have this message when i try to open PT4.
I restart my computer, same thing.
PT4 is so annoying !! Every weeks i have a new problem !
KFaconca
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:05 pm

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby WhiteRider » Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:26 am

That shouldn't happen immediately after you restart your computer - does it only happen after you've previously run PT4?
When you see that message close it and then look at Force Quit in the Apple menu - do you see PT4?
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53751
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby KFaconca » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:24 am

The problem is it happens when PT4 is actually closed.
So PT4 doesnt appear in Force quit.
KFaconca
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:05 pm

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby kraada » Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:48 am

Then next time this happens open Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal and run this command and paste the output here:
ps auwx | grep -i poker
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby KFaconca » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:46 am

i got this : 3846 0,0 0,0 2432768 628 s000 R+ 9:45 0:00.00 grep -i poker
KFaconca
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:05 pm

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby kraada » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:47 am

Then PokerTracker is not actually running - if it were you'd see a PokerTracker instance being listed. So for some reason we're erroneously reporting a second instance is running. Please enable logging in an instance where you can via Configure --> Options Logging Enabled, then reproduce this problem and then report it via our support system with the log file - that will help us figure out what is going on here and get it fixed for you. You can find that file by clicking File --> Show User Data Folder in the main PT4 window - the file we need is the text file called PokerTracker4 that is in that folder.
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby jacktheshipper » Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:17 am

Having the same issue!!!! on mac. Cant even open pt4 to enable logging etc...
jacktheshipper
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:02 pm

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby kraada » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:18 pm

What do you get when running the command from command line that was posted above?
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby sxnahm » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:16 pm

I am regularly seeing this issue on MacOS too. The "ps auwx | grep -i poker" command returns no other processes than the grep command.

This seems to happen when I've left PT4 running and the system suspends. When I restart the system this error usually happens. I would guess that there's a dangling socket from the last instance still around that is causing the new instance to think another process is running. Are there any other diagnostic steps that can be taken to narrow this down?
sxnahm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:57 pm

Re: A version of pokertracker is already running

Postby kraada » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:43 pm

That should only happen if there's an actual process running but your added information is useful and I'll make sure our lead Mac developer sees it and maybe we can find and fix the problem on our end.
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Next

Return to PT4 for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
highfalutin