PostgreSQL, PT4, Mac OS Ventura, can't install server

A special forum dedicated to our PT4 for Mac OS X users

Moderators: WhiteRider, kraada, Flag_Hippo, morny, Moderators

PostgreSQL, PT4, Mac OS Ventura, can't install server

Postby Shanzified » Mon Feb 20, 2023 3:34 pm

I've been running PT4 no problem for a few years. All working fine until my iMac died. We have another iMac and PT4 was installed on it as well, but had not been used for awhile (over a year). Obviously it prompted for an update when starting, which I did. When starting after that though, it couldn't connect to PostgreSQL. Everything looked the same, there was a user on the accounts list, on the window where you can elect to 'start service' I did that but it didn't change anything. Couldn't create a new database because it didn't seem to be running. I deleted everything (PT4, PostgreSQL) restarted the iMac. When reinstalling PT4 it seemed like a fresh install, but didn't prompt to install PostgreSQL. Tried installing 9.6, but failed at the end and didn't create the user. I'm pretty decent at troubleshooting but now I'm stuck. Any help appreciated.
Shanzified

Re: PostgreSQL, PT4, Mac OS Ventura, can't install server

Postby Flag_Hippo » Tue Feb 21, 2023 5:53 am

Make sure you have uninstalled any elements of previous PostgreSQL installs by following this tutorial and then manually download and install PostgreSQL v12 from here. Using a Mac administrator account or administrative privileges install that PostgreSQL and for the password boxes use "dbpass" (no quotes) which is what PokerTracker 4 uses by default. If that PostgreSQL installs successfully then try starting PokerTracker 4 again.
Flag_Hippo

Postby Shanzified » Tue Feb 21, 2023 5:35 pm