i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Questions and discussion about PokerTracker 4 for Windows

Moderators: WhiteRider, kraada, Flag_Hippo, morny

i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby Darki » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:49 am

hello i want to buy the best pc to run pt4 the best posible way can you guys recommend me some specs ?
Darki
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby panthea » Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:01 am

I am interested too, cause I am going to buy a new pc in around 2 weeks. I would like to know at which point (cpu clockrate, memory speed 1600-1866-2133-2400 etc.) the speed of PT4 will not be improved significantly.
panthea
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 1:06 am

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby kraada » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:58 am

At this point I'd prioritize things as:
(1) Get an SSD (preferably one large enough for your OS and your database).
(2) Get a good CPU.
(3) Get more than 8G of decent RAM.

More detailed breakdowns beyond that are unfortunately not going to be possible to provide.
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby pt4pt4pt4 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:31 pm

kraada wrote:At this point I'd prioritize things as:
(1) Get an SSD (preferably one large enough for your OS and your database).
(2) Get a good CPU.
(3) Get more than 8G of decent RAM.

More detailed breakdowns beyond that are unfortunately not going to be possible to provide.


I have never seen PT4 use more than 3.5 GB ram of my 8 GB available.

Make sense?
pt4pt4pt4
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:17 am

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby PumaPerez » Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:43 pm

i have 12GB installed and postgress consumes a lot of those. not even playing right now ;)

Image
PumaPerez
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby Darki » Tue Jun 25, 2013 5:47 pm

hmmm interesting advice , why everyone advice to buy an ssd whats the difference ?sorry im a total fish in this kind of things :P

when i get a ssd i have to install my database and my os in that thing right ? because its a faster memory
Darki
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby kraada » Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:49 pm

An SSD is a solid state disk drive - the really short version is that it's a much, much faster hard drive (it doesn't have spinning platters, it's not mechanical in the same way, as it's more like a USB flash drive in a hard drive form factor and size). Reading and writing data to your database is one of the big bottlenecks for PT4 and so being able to do that more quickly is important. It's also a particularly nice benefit to have your OS on such a drive as basically everything else loads faster as well.

Regarding RAM: PostgreSQL can use any amount (so long as you have a 64 bit version installed); it depends on the size of your database whether you would need it or not (once the entire database fits in RAM, you wouldn't really need more). But obviously if there's less, then PostgreSQL will make do.

The reason the CPU speed is next on my list rather than RAM isn't to say RAM isn't important it's to say a faster CPU will help a little more, especially for processor intensive operations like large imports or NoteTracker processing hands.
kraada
Moderator
 
Posts: 54435
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 am
Location: NY

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby pt4pt4pt4 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:12 am

Here is the norm for me, about 3.5 GB being used out of 8GB total. PT4 Database MGMT says my DB size is 18 GB.
I am also running Postgres 9.0 x64 version.

Image

like I said, I have never seen PT4 use more than that.
pt4pt4pt4
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:17 am

Re: i want to buy the best pc to run pt4

Postby tarix » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:31 am

pt4pt4pt4 wrote:like I said, I have never seen PT4 use more than that.


Postgres uses the operating system to cache database files so you need to count the 5GB of Cached memory as well.
tarix
Developer
 
Posts: 3760
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:49 pm


Return to PokerTracker 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron
highfalutin